Your browser is out of date!

This website uses the latest web technologies so it requires an up-to-date, fast browser!
Try Firefox or Chrome!

Legal Wedding

Legalized wedding :  According to the law No.1 of 1974 concerning marriage in Indonesia Canticle 2(1): “marriage is legitimate if it has been performed according to the laws of the respective religious beliefs of the parties concerned”

Generally, person of any nationality who would like to marry in Indonesia providing they hold one of the five religions recognized by Indonesia (Moslem, Catholic, Buddhist, Hinduism and Protestant). Marriages under Indonesian law are performed by religious minister and the Catatan Sipil (Civil Registrar) or by the Kantor Urusan Agama (Directorate of Islamic Religion Affairs)

General requirements on marriage  formalities in Indonesia as follow:

  • Copy of letter sign  by the priest stating that have performed a religious ceremony according to  their respective belief
  • Widower must present  a copy of death certificate of the former spouse. If there has been a divorce, the decree must present a copy o divorced certificate.
  • Letter of No Impediment from Consulate General in Indonesia certifying that the couple has no objection to getting marriage in Indonesia.
  • Copy of Birth certificate
  • Copy of passport
  • Copy of the registration from the hotel/ villa where they staying at (reservation receipt)
  • Couple must give notice of their intention to the registrar of the marriage in the district where the marriages are to be performed by filling in the civil form from Civil Ministry. This notice must given at least 10 working days prior wedding date.

Other requirements according to Indonesia marriage laws

For the issue of the Letter of No Impediment to marriage by your consular representative you may need to present for your self and your fiancé(e), passport(s) that is valid for more than 6 month. The following countries have consulates or consular representative in Bali:

  • Australia
  • Italy
  • United Kingdom
  • England
  • France
  • Japan
  • Netherlands
  • Mexico
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • Switzerland and Austria
  • Norway and Denmark
  • United States and America
  • Sweden and Finlandia